In Colorado, traffic offenses vary from the typical speeding ticket to more serious offenses. Some traffic offenses are considered misdemeanors and depending on the ticket, you may incur penalties of serving 90 days jail and fines up to $300.00. A fine is separate from court costs, surcharges and any additional fees the Court may impose. You could receive probation for up to 24 months, depending on the circumstances. If you receive a ticket for speeding in a school zone or a construction zone, the fines and costs are much higher.Call Mike Moran at 719-447-1923 and find out how to protect your driving privileges.
The offenses listed below are considered misdemeanor traffic offenses and can incorporate severe penalties:
- Speed Contest
- Reckless Driving
- Careless Driving
- Careless Driving Involving Death
- Radar Jamming Devices Prohibited
- Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries
- Accident Involving Damage
- Driving Under Suspension
- Driving Under Revocation
- Duty To Give Notice, Information And Aid
- Duty Upon Striking Unattended Vehicle Or Other Property
- Duty Upon Striking Highway Fixtures Or Traffic Control Devices
- Duty To Report Accidents
- Eluding Or Attempting To Elude A Police Officer
- Speeding 25 Miles Per Hour Over The Speed Limit
- Careless Driving Involving Injury
- Driving After Revocation Prohibited (DARP)
- Hit And Run
- Drag Racing
- Failure to Yield to an Emergency Vehicle
Colorado Springs Traffic Violations can be serious if you are convicted. It is important to hire an experienced traffic violations defense attorney. Michael W. Moran will diligently protect your rights and use his best efforts to secure your driving privileges. Mike is experienced in defending traffic charges and has tried many of these types of cases. He has been very successful in obtaining positive resolutions.
In the State of Colorado, points are assessed against your driving privilege, and, depending on the circumstances, the State has the authority to suspend your license for too many points. A driver may have his/her license suspended or denied if: The driver has been convicted of traffic violations resulting in the accumulation of:
Adults (21 and over) 12 or more points in 12 months or 18 points within 24 months.
Minors (18 to 21) 9 points or more in 12 months or 12 points within 24 months. 14 or more for the period of the license.
Minors (16 to 18) 6 or more points in 12 months or 7 or more points for the period of the license.
Each driver starts with a clean slate, or 0 points against their license. If a driver accumulates points against their license as shown in the table above, their driving privilege will be suspended, denied, or revoked.
Points accumulate when a driver is convicted of traffic violations. Points will be eliminated from a driver record two years after the date of the violation. (Three years for minors 18 to 21).
Traffic offenses can be heard in Colorado County Courts and certain Municipal Courts, depending on the nature of the offense. The potential penalties depend on where the case is heard (County or Municipal) and the severity of the charge.
Contact Colorado Springs criminal lawyer Michael W. Moran to schedule a free case review at (719) 447-1923.